My 2 Cents

Screw Paterno!

Posted on: November 20, 2011

Okay, so I am finally so fed up that I feel the need to comment on this whole Penn State scandal. Usually I don’t care too much about big scandals like this. But for some reason, I feel some sort of connection to this one. Maybe it’s because I have had tons of friends that graduated from PSU, or the fact that my grandfather was also an alum. Or maybe it’s because of my connection to education as a teacher. Or possibly it’s because I have a child of my own now and I know how I would feel if she had been abused and no one did anything about it.

First of all, let me state that I am not a graduate of this university. I did however grow up hearing about JoePa and how terrific he was. My grandfather was a HUGE fan and religiously went to and watched the games. I remember wearing PSU cheerleader outfits when I was a kid, and sitting around with Poppy on the weekends rooting for the Lions. I also applied to Penn State and was accepted. To this day I still do not really know why I chose to go elsewhere. While I didn’t go there, I visited plenty. Even after college, I joined my friends who graduated from PSU for a few summers to visit during alumni/ArtsFest weekend. Needless to say, I always had a blast in Happy Valley. In fact, I would even venture to say that I might have more allegiance to PSU than to my own Alma Mater.

With all that being said, I can’t fathom why everyone is still supporting “JoePa” through all of this. He knew about children that were being abused and did nothing about it. And let’s be real, it wasn’t just abuse it was RAPE. I don’t care who he is or what his position is, he had a moral and legal obligation to tell authorities about what he knew. I don’t care how much of a legend he is or what good he has done for that school. I don’t care if he was afraid of losing his job. (He was already in his 70’s when this started happening. He could have easily been hired at another school, or retired.) Hiding something like this completely negates anything positive that he has done in my eyes. What a selfish, self serving JACKASS!

As for the school, I cant help but think that more people knew about this and did nothing. We all know how word travels through the work place. So far there have been so many people that we have heard of who knew what was happening. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are plenty of others who knew as well. As an educator and as a parent, I know that children are sent to school to learn, but also because we view educators and teachers as advocates for children. We expect our kids to be safe when they are at school – whether that be daycare, grade school or college.

I’ve seen interviews and Facebook conversations that start out with “You just don’t understand what he did for the school…blah blah blah.” I say, what if those victims were your child, or sibling? How would you feel if that were the case? What would you think about Paterno and others hiding it then? Put yourself in their shoes. It’s one thing to support the students, and victims, but really people Paterno?!? As far as I’m concerned he is an accomplice.

The victims will have to live with the memories of the horrible things that were done to them for the rest of their lives. Quite frankly, I vote for a slow and torturous death to all those involved at the hand of the victims and their families. Those who knew or participated should have to suffer just as they inflicted suffering on others.

9 Responses to "Screw Paterno!"

*Standing ovation* I agree completely.

While I feel that we are all entitled to our opinions, it is helpful if you inform yourself before you form those opinions. Maybe you should take the time to read the grand jury report and you’ll see that JoePa was not told the whole story by Mike McQueary. He was told of inappropriate acts with minors. We all know that inappropriate acts can be a lot of things that don’t include sexual acts. Furthermore, when JoePa followed up with his superiors, he was told that it had been investigated and was being handled. I have two sons and I have put myself in the shoes of the victims and their families many times and I can say that JoePa is NOT the one I’d be pointing fingers at here. If it were one of my sons that were a victim, I’d be after the people who knew the WHOLE story and did nothing and obviously Sandusky himself. By the way, how come you didn’t bother to mention Jerry Sandusky at all in this post? You do know that HE is the one who committed these acts, right? To say that this scandal negates all the good JoePa has done is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. That man has donated his time, money and most importantly his life to making other lives better. Maybe if you had gone to Penn State and had first hand knowledge of all the good that has been done and knew that JoePa is so much more than just football you’d feel a little differently.

We are entitled to our opinions, that I agree with.

As far as I’m concerned any inappropriate act with a minor is cause for concern. That’s why it’s “inappropriate.” I don’t know about you, but most of the time when we hear the phrase “inappropriate acts with a minor” it’s a phrase used to sugar coat what really happened. Frequently it means something of sexual nature. Furthermore, I believe the quote in the grand jury report is that Paterno was told of “disturbing and inappropriate conduct in the shower.” I do believe that this is what he reported to Tim Curley. Even Paterno himself says that he should have done more.

It might seem like I am picking on only Paterno. To me it seems that all of the other cases have been open and shut, but that his guilt or innocence is what has been questioned the most. As employees of educational institutions we are obligated by contract and law to report any “inappropriate” acts with a minor to the authorities. Meaning the police or department of children services, not our boss. If I hear of, know about, or witness abuse of any kind – I go straight to my social worker, not my boss. If I feel the police need to be involved, and the social worker didn’t get them involved, then I call them myself.

And yes, I am aware of the great things that Paterno did for the school. Honestly I don’t care how much of his time or money he put into the school. If he really cared he would have handled a situation like this appropriately. I realize that he wasn’t the only one involved, and I stated in the previous post that everyone involved (or who knew) should have severe consequences.

Again, I find it hard to believe that one wouldn’t be angry, mad or enraged at someone who knew this happened to their child but didn’t take appropriate action.

It doesn’t “seem” like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him for his part in all this. He is still being paid while on leave for his own safety. I just don’t understand why you don’t see his actions, or lack there of as morally reprehensible. Here’s a man who saw a little boy being raped and did NOTHING. He waited more than 24 hours before even reporting it to Joe. Oh wait, he’s not a well known figure, he’s just some random redhead on the sidelines.

Furthermore, how about the actions of the now Governor? This case hit his desk and he did nothing. Did you know that he is a major donor to Sandusky’s charity? Did you also know that Sandusky’s charity was a major contributor to governor’s election campaign? Let’s set the moral reprehension aside a second. I’m no legal expert, but I’m sure there was a conflict of interest there which would make Corbit’s inaction illegal.

I think this is just another case of taking the big name in a situation and scapegoating. Sure he could have done more, but at least he did something. If this exact situation had happened an a less popular school with a less popular coach he would have been left out of it and the focus would have been on the people who really covered it up and more importantly the victims.

The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am interested in what others think about this matter. I have talked to PLENTY of people who disagree with me. I wouldn’t have written a piece like that to spark conversation without making an informed opinion first. I resent the fact that you accuse me of not knowing what I am talking about. You have NO IDEA of my knowledge base. I may not have gone to Penn State but I have always, and will always hold a special place in my heart for Penn State. To be completely truthful, not going there is probably one of the biggest regrets that I have in my life. I feel more at home when I visit Happy Valley, then when I visit my own college town(s). (I went to University of Maryland in College Park, but I graduated from University of NC at Wilmington.)

All of that being said, MY opinion of Paterno still holds. And if we’re truthful, neither of us is going to change the other’s mind. I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree.

One final note, in Matt’s defense: He wasn’t saying that you claimed to know a great deal about the war. He was just making an analogy.

Wow sad, I guess because i didn’t go to Penn State than I can not possibly understand this whole situation. Hm since you were not in Iraq I guess you dont understand the war there?

Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn’t aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that because you didn’t go to Penn State that you don’t understand the whole situation. Way to put words in my mouth Matt. What I did say that people outside the university don’t know the extent of the good JoePa has done. Most people who didn’t go to Penn State see only a football coach when he is so much more.

JoePa did the absolute bare minimum. I don’t believe for a minute that he didn’t know the full truth about what happened. When McQueary told him inappropriate acts with minors occurred in the shower I find it very hard to believe he didn’t say “oh my gosh, what exactly did you see?” I read the grand jury report. By my count 7 grown men knew about the rape and not one of them tried to find the victim and make sure he got help or even make sure it didn’t happen again. Because of the silence of 7 grown men (seven! it boggles my mind!) Sandusky was free to rape, molest and abuse children for another 9 years. How many more victims do you think are out there? I don’t care how much money JoPa donatated to Penn State, how great a guy he is or how many times he goes to church on Sunday. He sat by and did nothing after learning a child was raped by a grown man. JoPa was dead wrong and charges should be bought against him and the other 6 men. Don’t even get me started on McQueary. There is a special seat in hell right next to Sandusky for that son of a bitch.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
