My 2 Cents

Home Sweet Home

Posted on: September 15, 2011

The idea for this post came a few weeks ago as school was starting.  We had an open house where the students and parents came in to meet the teachers and we had to be at school from 1pm to 8pm.  The required hours weren’t long, but if you know anyone who teaches, the beginning of the year is super hectic. Teacher’s are not just hanging out in school and setting up our room; we have workshops, and opening meetings, paperwork and lesson planning to do as well.  We have to help orient new staff, and get to know new team members as well.  So that day, I decided to go in to school at my normal time (7am), and get some things done in my room,  I figured it would be uninterrupted time to work, and it was.  Open House is also really exciting for me, because I get to meet my students and their families.  I’ve worked at my school long enough now that I’ve taught several siblings from some families.   It’s always fun to see who I’m going to get next. 

The day went by quickly, and I did get quite a bit finished.  Not to mention, all of my students showed up to Open House, which has never happened for me before.  I think we were dismissed a few minutes before 8pm, and I got in the car to drive home.  I didn’t feel stressed as I left work, and I wasn’t really tired.  I got home, pulled in the driveway, got out of the car and unlocked the front door.  And as I crossed the threshold of the front door, a HUGE sense of calm washed over me.   It was like my body knew I was home, and it was time to relax.  I went to check on the baby, and curled up on the couch with my husband.  It was a long day, but I was home, and nothing else mattered at that point. 

We may not have the biggest house around, or the prettiest yard, or nicest cars.  My couch has dog and cat hair all over it, and there are toys strewn all over the floor.  The laundry is clean and folded, but not put away.  There is toilet paper clumped on the floor from the cats playing with it.  The dishes are clean, but still in the dishwasher.  It might be a mess, but it’s home to my little family and me…Home Sweet Home!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
