My 2 Cents

The Many Shades of…My Hair!

Posted on: August 1, 2011

My mom started letting me dye or highlight my hair when I was in 8th grade.  I was 13 at the time, and thought that was the coolest thing ever.  I remember spending Saturday afternoons with her in the salon, looking like aliens with aluminum foil hanging out of our heads.  But, I was always happy with the result of lighter, blonder locks.

Over the last fifteen years, my hair has pretty much been every color under the sun, except black (even though I contemplated it a few times).  Oh, and I never went the pink, blue, green, etc. route either, although I wish I had had the guts too.  I would have loved to rock some pink hair!

I’ve added a few pictures to show you, but it’s only a glimpse of the last 15 years.  I can’t seem to find the pictures with really dark brown hair, or the red with light highlights phase that I went through.  I guess that means that those weren’t really my favorites.

Light Blonde

Reddish Brown

Blondish

I don't know what this is! Blonde in front, brown in back - not intentional though!

Orange Maybe?

Yet another Reddish Color!

When I got pregnant with our little butterfly, I stopped dying my hair.  Mostly for her safety, but also because I sort of wanted to see what color my hair really was, and being pregnant was a good excuse to have roots that were hideously long!

I haven’t dyed my hair for 18 months now, and I love my natural color.  My roots have completely grown out, and the color has its own natural highlights.  I don’t know if it’s dark blonde or light brown, but I don’t really care either.  It goes well with my skin tone, and it’s super easy to maintain.

All Natural

I often think of dying my hair again, but then I remember how often I used to have to do it, and decide otherwise.  I have to say, I love the natural look.  I guess we’ll see how long this shade lasts!

It’s amazing how important a hair style or color is to a woman.  Do you dye your hair, or is it natural?  What’s the worst color or cut you’ve ever had?  I’d love to hear your stories ☺

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
