My 2 Cents

I think I’m in Love with Quinoa

Posted on: August 1, 2011

 Roasted Bell Peppers Stuffed with Quinoa (and Garden Salad)

(also a Whole Foods Recipe)

This is my second recipe from the Whole Foods iPhone app, which I LOVE!  As you know if you’ve been following me, the Other Half and I recently  went back to vegetarianism.  We have gone without meat before, but for  some reason we have never tried quinoa in a recipe.

20110801-065445.jpg

I found this recipe and it looked good, so I gave it a try for dinner tonight.  It was  REALLY good.  At first, I was skeptical about the amount of  cinnamon in it, but it  really turned out well.  The flavors of the veggies  went well together, and the  peppers were so soft, they almost melted in my mouth.  The cashews were good  because they gave it a little crunch, but I will probably add another 1/4 cup next  time.

Also, since it’s just my husband and I eating, I made the whole amount of stuffing, but only stuffed and roasted two peppers.  I froze the rest

of the stuffing so that we can enjoy it another time.

For the salad, I just chopped up some romaine lettuce, added craisins, croutons, cucumbers, parmesan cheese, and a vinegarette dressing.

This is definitely going on the favorites list!  Give it a try and let me know what you think.

 Serves 6

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for oiling the pan 1 red onion, chopped
1/2 pound sliced mushrooms
1 cup chopped carrots
7 bell peppers (1 cored, seeded and chopped; tops removed and reserved from remaining 6 then cored and seeded)
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1/4 pound baby spinach
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed and cooked according to package directions  Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup roasted, salted cashews

Method

20110801-065431.jpgHeat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally until transparent, 8 to 10 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook until softened, 4 to 5 minutes more. Add carrots and chopped peppers, cook until just softened, then add parsley and spinach (in batches, if needed). Let spinach wilt then stir in cinnamon, cumin and cooked quinoa and toss gently to combine. Add salt, pepper and cashews and cook 1 to 2 minutes more. Set aside to let filling cool until just warm.
Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9- x 13-inch baking pan with oil then set aside.

Divide quinoa mixture evenly among remaining 6 bell peppers, gently packing it down and making sure to fully fill each pepper. Top each pepper with its reserved top then arrange them upright in prepared pan. Cover snugly with foil and bake, checking halfway through, until peppers are tender and juicy and filling is hot throughout, about 1 hour. Transfer to plates and serve.

Nutrition

Per serving (1 pepper/about 10oz/283g-wt.): 250 calories (90 from fat), 10g total fat, 1.5g saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 280mg sodium, 36g total carbohydrate (7g dietary fiber, 6g sugar), 9g protein

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
