My 2 Cents

I kissed a girl…and I liked it!

Posted on: July 25, 2011

Let me preface this blog post by saying that I am straight.  I don’t have many gay friends or family members, so I’m not privy to many of the struggles that they go through, or have been through.  However, I firmly believe that everyone; no matter race, religion, color or sexual preference, deserves to be treated equally in all aspects of their life.

One month ago, New York was the sixth state to legalize gay marriage.  Today was the first day for that law to take effect.  I read an article about two grandmothers getting married, and tears came to my eyes.  I am so delighted for these women that, after 23 years, they FINALLY get to celebrate their love.  It’s just a shame that they had to wait so long.  And what about the other 46 states that gay marriage is still not allowed in?

I know that this country has a long way to go, and some might say we have a lot more to worry about that our marriage laws, but I truly hope that other states follow suit fast.

Even though I have felt this way since before I even thought about having children, I seem to feel even more strongly about it now.  Soon after our daughter was born, we were joking about her dating.  One of us said “No boys until she’s 16.”  The other added “or girls,”  and we both just smiled.  I cringe when I think of the possibility of her not being able to enjoy the same rights that my husband and I do.  I can only hope that other new parents are feeling the same way.

-Melinda

P.S.  Check out the It Gets Better Project to see how you can show your support for the LGBTQ community.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
