My 2 Cents

Going Veg ~ Again!

Posted on: July 25, 2011

About two weeks ago, my husband and I received a package in the mail from my mom.  It was a lovely dinner for two.  I had been visiting her and other family up north and just got back home, so she sent us a treat since we hadn’t seen each other in a few weeks.  I opened the box, and found a styro-foam container.  Inside were some ice packs.  As I unpacked further, there was shrimp cocktail, lobster bisque, dessert and finally two fairly large lobsters.  I had never really cooked lobster before, and only eaten it once or twice, so I didn’t know much about it.  It looked like a yummy treat for both of us.  I called Mom to thank her.

Then she told me the lobsters were still ALIVE!

I was kind of confused, because after I had opened the container the first time, I was pretty sure they were NOT moving.   Then I found out that that’s what they do when they are cold.  I opened the container back up for a little more inspection, only to find out that they were indeed alive.  That’s when I kind of freaked.  I didn’t want to cook them and kill them, and I knew my husband (who has been a vegetarian twice in his life for a total of 5 years) wouldn’t want to cook them either.  So I called our neighbor, and friend, Tara.  I knew that she would come to the rescue.  That night we wound up eating the lobsters, and lots of other goodies, at Tara’s house – after SHE cooked them.  We joked about it, enjoyed it, had a good time, and a delicious dinner.

When Matt was in middle school, he was a vegetarian for about 3 years.  The last time that he was a vegetarian, we didn’t eat meat in the house, but I would occasionally eat chicken or something when we went out for dinner.  I guess I was a part-time veggie.  This lasted for about 2 years, and then for some reason, we just started eating meat again one day.

After the lobster experience, I think we realized that it’s time to go veggie again!  It kind of hit me hard.  I know that all of the meat I have eaten previously has been dead, but when I was left to kill the poor animal myself, I felt horrible.  And, if I felt that bad about killing and ugly bottom dwelling sea creature with beady eyes and weird, hairy claws, what was I doing eating cute, fuzzy cows? (or pigs, or chickens?)  I can’t kill animals to eat them.

So, we’re back to being vegetarians again.  There are lots of different kinds of veggies though.  Just to make it clear, we do eat dairy. ( I could never give up cheese!!)  We have just eliminated eating dead animals.  We will also go back to trying to by animal friendly clothing and shoes, since wearing leather from a dead cow would kind of defeat the purpose of being a vegetarian.

Okay, so what does all of this mean for you?

Being a vegetarian requires a little more creativity than just eating “meat and potatoes,” so as I find yummy recipes, I’ll post them.  Of course, you can use meat in them if you choose, or you can make them as is!  I hope you enjoy ☺

-Melinda

 

1 Response to "Going Veg ~ Again!"

…still disappointed they didn’t ‘squeal’…lol I had to say it!, But, you know,…if they did,…THAT would have freaked me out!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
