My 2 Cents

No Poo!

Posted on: July 15, 2011

Don’t worry, it’s not what you’re thinking. 

Over the past year, I have been hearing about lots of people going without “poo” (shampoo).  I decided to try it.  I don’t usually use any other products in my hair, and I haven’t dyed it since before Alayna was born.  In my quest to be frugal I figured it might be worth it.  One of the women at work who had done it recommended the blog “A Sonoma Garden” because the author hasn’t used shampoo in a few years, and she has lots of good info about the topic.  (Check out her blog for directions and how to steps for how to go poo-less if you’re interested.)

Anyway, it’s Friday, I haven’t used shampoo since last Sunday, and it’s actually kind of liberating.  The last shampoo was on Sunday, and I didn’t wash again until Tuesday.  My hair was really greasy by the time Tuesday rolled around, and I was a bit skeptical about using the baking soda & water concoction, but it actually really worked nicely.  I used it again yesterday, but only because I was in the pool on Wednesday.  Today is Friday, and I think I’m going to try and hold out until Sunday or Monday before I wash again.  We’ll see how it goes.  There is usually a transition time of 2 weeks to 1 month before your hair and scalp regulate itself and get rid of all of the chemicals from shampoo.  I’ve been sporting a pony tail on the extra greasy days, but it hasn’t been too terrible.  Hopefully this will pay off in the end, I’ll keep you updated!

1 Response to "No Poo!"

[…] you are interested in going poo-free, check out my previous post for sites and cleansing […]

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
  • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
  • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
