My 2 Cents

More Quinoa Please…

Posted on: August 5, 2011

Tonight’s recipe is a new one for us. We haven’t tried it, but it looks DELICIOUS! I found the recipe on $5 Dinners, which happens to be an awesome site. You should check it out. I’ve got the recipe below, and I will let you know how it rates, and add a picture, after we chow down tonight.

Red Quinoa with Avocado, Black Beans & Corn

20110805-081536.jpg

 Ingredients

1 cup red quinoa (I have white quinoa left over from the other night, so I won’t be using the  red.)
1 cup frozen diced green pepper (I used fresh)
1 cup frozen corn
2 cups cooked black beans
1/4 cup lime juice
2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
1 avocado, diced

Directions


In a large skillet, saute the green pepper, corn and black beans. Once softened, add the lime juice and cilantro. In saucepan, cook the red quinoa as directed on the package. Once cooked, mix the quinoa in with the sauteeing veggies. Dice up and avocado. Serve the avocado on top of the quinoa and veggies.

How was it?

This recipe was yummy.  I don’t think I’ve mastered how to cook the quinoa yet, because it was a little mushy, and kind of fell apart.  I think I could have taken it off the stove a few minutes earlier.  Otherwise, the flavors were really good.  We would totally eat it again.

 

Leave a Reply

    • currans2cents: The original blog that sparked all of your angst was written purely as an OPINION piece. As you stated, we are entitled to have them. I truly am int
    • Mychal B.: It doesn't "seem" like you are only picking on JoePa, you ARE only picking on JoePa. Mike McQueary has received no disciplinary actions against him fo
    • Mychal B.: Um, I never claimed to understand anything about the war. I wasn't aware that the war had anything to do with this case. I also never said that becaus
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

